On May 17, I attended the dedication ceremony for the new H.S. Lopez Family Foundation Center of Opportunity, to be run by Gospel Rescue Mission. It will be a one-stop source of shelter and services for the homeless and needy of Tucson. The idea behind the center is to provide the needy with all services they will need to get back on their feet while they are “home.”

Arizona Governor Doug Ducey, Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild, and Humberto and Czarina Lopez were some of the guest speakers at the ceremony. I had a chance to interview some of them, including the governor.

 Recently my mom and I went to a traveling exhibit at OdySea in the Desert, Bodies Revealed. This exhibit was very fun and helpful. It had lots of different facts about the human body and they were interesting.

There were also models of the muscle and bone structures in the body. But, the bodies were real! They were real people! I know, crazy.

Date: 
Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Mad Science is the leading science enrichment provider for children ages 3-12. We deliver interactive STEM-based science experiences for children, with a variety of program types to suit any schedule, class size, and event type. Mad Science presents fundamental scientific concepts to children with hands-on experiments and exciting demonstrations so they have the chance to explore science for themselves.

Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sat Jul 06 2019 except Thu Jul 04 2019.
Friday, June 7, 2019 - 5:30pm
Saturday, June 8, 2019 - 5:30pm
Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 5:30pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 - 5:30pm
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 5:30pm
Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 5:30pm
Friday, June 14, 2019 - 5:30pm
Saturday, June 15, 2019 - 5:30pm
Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 5:30pm
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 5:30pm
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 5:30pm
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 5:30pm
Friday, June 21, 2019 - 5:30pm
Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 5:30pm
Sunday, June 23, 2019 - 5:30pm
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 - 5:30pm
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 5:30pm
Thursday, June 27, 2019 - 5:30pm
Friday, June 28, 2019 - 5:30pm
Saturday, June 29, 2019 - 5:30pm
Sunday, June 30, 2019 - 5:30pm
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 5:30pm
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - 5:30pm
Friday, July 5, 2019 - 5:30pm
Saturday, July 6, 2019 - 5:30pm

Various show times. 

 

www.azbroadway.org/

These days, museums are not only great places to see awesome artwork and interesting exhibits. Many museums offer interactive displays, hands-on activities and special events with something for everyone. During the hot summer months, keep cool with a fun visit to a museum! 

Heard Museum

...Read more

Loose snake

Top Photo: photo courtesy of Phoenix Fire Dept.

A blazing house fire wasn’t all that Phoenix fire-fighters encountered on May 16. The also faced snakes—hundreds of ’em!!!

The house was in Laveen near... Read more

Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sat Jul 06 2019 except Thu Jul 04 2019.
Saturday, June 8, 2019 - 12:00pm
Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 12:00pm
Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 12:00pm
Friday, June 14, 2019 - 12:00pm
Saturday, June 15, 2019 - 12:00pm
Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 12:00pm
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 12:00pm
Friday, June 21, 2019 - 12:00pm
Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 12:00pm
Sunday, June 23, 2019 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 12:00pm
Thursday, June 27, 2019 - 12:00pm
Friday, June 28, 2019 - 12:00pm
Saturday, June 29, 2019 - 12:00pm
Sunday, June 30, 2019 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - 12:00pm
Friday, July 5, 2019 - 12:00pm
Saturday, July 6, 2019 - 12:00pm

Various show times. 

 

www.azbroadway.org/

Date: 
Friday, June 14, 2019 - 5:30pm

Various show times. 

 

www.azbroadway.org/

Pages